Little Women Christmas Eve 1981

This article is about the 1981 anime adaptation by Toei Animation. For the 1987 anime adaptation by Nippon Animation see Little Women (1987 TV series). For all other uses see Little Women
Little Women
The March sisters, clockwise from lower right: Jo, Amy, Beth, and Meg.
(Wakakusa no Yon Shimai)
Genre Romance, School
Anime television series
Directed by Kazuya Miyazaki
Produced by Juzo Tsubota
Written by Eiichi Imado
Music by Takeo Watanabe
Studio Toei Animation
Kokusai Eiga-sha
Licensed by
Enoki Films
Network Tokyo Channel 12 (1981)
Original run April 7, 1981 – September 29, 1981
Episodes 26 (List of episodes)
Portal icon Anime and Manga portal
Little Women, also known as Little Women’s Four Sisters (若草の四姉妹 Wakakusa no Yon Shimai?) or From “Little Women Story”: Little Women’s Four Sisters (「若草物語」より 若草の四姉妹 “Wakakusa Monogatari” Yori: Wakakusa no Yon Shimai?), is a 1981 Japanese animated television series adaptation of Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women. The series is directed by Kazuya Miyazaki (a veteran Toei director whose credits included Cutie Honey and UFO Robo Grendizer among others) and produced by Toei Animation for the Kokusai Eigasha (Movie International) company.

The series was produced as a follow-up to a TV special based on Alcott’s novel the previous year by the same animation studio. The TV series character designs differ slightly from those of the TV special; Jo, for example, while she is blonde in both versions, has curled hair rather than straight hair in the TV series.

This series is sometimes confused with Nippon Animation’s 1987 World Masterpiece Theater TV series based on Little Women, Ai no Wakakusa Monogatari, as both series were dubbed in English and broadcast on U.S. cable TV in the 1980s (the 1981 series on CBN, and the 1987 series on HBO). In addition, both TV series share a voice actress: Keiko Han, who plays Beth in this TV series, and Meg in the 1987 series

22946 Total Views 2 Views Today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *